Sep 9, 2008

LOUIS SCLAVIS " Chine" (FRA,1987)

LOUIS SCLAVIS - clarinettes, sopr sax
FRANCOIS RAULIN - piano , synth, percussion
BRUNO CHEVILLON - contrabass
CHRISTIAN VILLE - drums , percussions

LOUIS SCLAVIS touches jazz and avant rock, world and improvisation, classical and avant garde, traditions and experimentalism... very little. Yes very little! Because the full new grounds land, he establishes here, shares only borders with above genres. It is a land surprising, mysterious, enigmatic, extending widely in space and time. Louis Sclavis ensemble crosses it from edge to edge. Following passages others cannot imagine, moving from place to place with a penetrating nimbleness that only dreams sometime have. The quality of CHINE perfomances reaches incredible heights while all the instruments (carrying with clarity whole pieces of history each) have a full developed participation in the compositions. From the ultimate blows before silence to innovative tango lessons, ...from weird lamentations for Louis De Funes to arousing comparisons with the best avant prog (Art Zoyd, Univers Zero), CHINE is a superior work in all levels. Absolutely no reason to avoid using here the word masterpiece.

CHINE (43mb)

No comments: