Oct 28, 2011

The Female Energy Of THE TIPTONS

The Tiptons is an all-women sax quartet which features Jessica Lurie (alto, tenor, vocals), Tina Richerson (baritone, vocals), Sue Orfield (tenor, vocals) and Amy Denio (alto, vocals), with the latter -member of so many avant, rio, impro and world jazz oufits- to be the most well known name here. The line up is completed by guests percussions.
The band, active since 1988, was formerly known as Billy Tipton Memorial Saxophone Quartet. Original members Lurie and Denio are the main composers. The Tiptons have released 10 cd's so far, the most recent one is "Strange Flower", (2010).

The quartet describes its music as: “... a high energy blend of ‘twisted folk’ with world music, second line, funk, jazz, and Eastern European influences thrown into the mix of mainly original material.”

1. Darling, please don't wake me ("Tsunami", 2004)
2. Zemrude ("Drive, 2005)
3. Hands down ("Drive", 2005)
4. Shop of wild dreams ("Laws Of Motion", 2008)
5. Sleepytown ("Tsunami", 2004)
6. Alma ("Drive", 2005)
7. After before ("Tsunami", 2004)
8. Anthem ("Laws Of Motion", 2008)
9. Mi yo mei ("Laws Of Motion", 2008)

compiled by LaFolieDuJour  


brazzz said...

viste anni fa in concerto qui a forli..grandissime..e jessica lurie,vista con i living daylights e da sola..fantastica!

kiss said...

rijbewijs kopen
comprare patente
führerschein kaufen
führerschein kaufen
comprar carta de condução